Uncategorized

May the Fourth Be With You

cropped-cropped-artboard-1.jpgThis is my fourth attempt at blogging, so I’m naming it Take4th. I want to take a more personal take on my geeky-culture obsessed life. I’m terrible at recaps and I was just writing when I was inspired, leading to overwrought rants on various topics. I was forcing myself to be witty, clever, or whatever and it wasn’t working for me. This time I’m going to be more chill and personal. I write stuff all the time at work and I can’t take my writing life outside of work so seriously. Or I won’t write. Period.

I’m also launching this thing on May the Fourth, also known as Star Wars Day. So I’m going to start this with a personal story about one of my early fandoms, Star Wars.
I’ve been a fan of Star Wars fan since I was a young lady.

My brother loved to watch the movies when he had a turn to pick what we watched. I started to get into it too, we would have lightsaber fights and collected action figures. That was our thing. We had both had inherited the collecting gene from our dad, who had a pretty epic comic book collection.

I kept my fandom hidden to some extent.

My brother had tons of action figures, like every random droid or creature that spent only a second on screen. I just had a few, just the main characters, Leia, Han, Luke, R2D2, C3PO, Chewbacca, Yoda, an Ekwok, and Darth Vader.

I’m a girly-girl and always wished that Leia would have had outfits that I could dress her in. I played Barbie with my friends, but never Star Wars. I don’t know why that is, why my friends and i never played in that world.

My brother had his action figures displayed on small shelves that stretched the length of his room. Mine, I kept in a small dresser drawer. They were pretty much the only things in there.

This makes me a little sad. Maybe I wasn’t into it has much as he was at the time, but I kept my fandom hidden and his was out there in a big way. I don’t know if it was due to gender or our personalities.

I’m glad that I’m out of the geek closet, or the drawer in my case.

Leave a Reply

